What were the clone wars?

The Clone Wars were a multiyear battle that took place in the Star Wars multimedia franchise. The war was a galaxy-spanning conflict between the Galactic Republic & the secessionist Confederacy of Independent Systems. The war's end led to the rise of the Galactic Empire & the fall of the Jedi Order.