Did old yeller have rabies?

No. Old Yeller is forced to defend the family against a rabid wolf. During the fight, Old Yeller is bitten and injured by the wolf. Because of his exposure to rabies and the fact that he is now a threat to the family as a result, the older son is forced to shoot and kill him.