Did texas fight in the civil war?

Yes. Some Texan military units fought east of the Mississippi River, but Texas was most useful for supplying soldiers and horses for Confederate forces. This role lasted until mid-1863, after which time Union gunboats controlled the river, making large transfers of men, horses or cattle impossible.