What's the difference between plum and prune?

A plum is a relative of cherries, peaches, and almonds while a prune is a variety or a type of plum. Most varieties of plums have red skins when ripe, but prunes have blue or purple skins when ripe. Prunes are oval-shaped while other types of plums are either heart-shaped or round-shaped.

---

A prune is a dried plum.