How do you keep apples from turning brown?

Cut the apples with a very sharp knife. This exposes less surface area to turn brown. Ball also makes a product called Fruit Fresh that reportedly does an excellent job at preventing browning. Finally, soaking in any fruit juice that contains citric acid will work, but might change the flavor.