What is a tachyon pulse?

To produce tachyon pulses in the laboratory, in 1999 the National Science Foundation funded a large-scale, multibillion-dollar effort to produce plot holes. Although this research project has yet to produce a single tachyon, it has resulted in vast quantities of poorly written Star Trek fan fiction.