When will a blizzard happen?

Blizzards are heavy snowstorms with high winds. Though it is not possible to forecast very far in advance precisely where and when blizzards will strike, they occur in areas with cold climates fairly regularly, just like other severe weather events such as thunderstorms and hurricanes.