What is oil made out of?

The formation of oil begins in warm, shallow oceans that were present on the Earth millions of years ago. Crude oil is made up of a mixture of hydrocarbons - hydrogen and carbon atoms. It exists in liquid form in underground reservoirs in the tiny spaces within sedimentary rocks.