How long does it take to get your doctorate degree?

Ph.D., also known as a Doctor of Philosophy, regardless of the subject of study, requires a set of tasks that typically take 5-6 years to complete. Students must first take advanced courses in their field for a few years and complete a set of comprehensive exams.