What is a pinched nerve in your back?

Typically, nerves are pinched in your back when either your vertebrae have changed position to pinch a spinal cord nerve as it travels out to your body or when a vertebral disc is squished out of position (bulging or slipped disc) to pinch a spinal cord nerve.