What's the difference between iodized salt and kosher salt?

Iodized salt and kosher salt are both mainly sodium chloride, but iodized salt contains iodine and kosher salt does not. Iodized salt is also fine, while kosher salt has coarse flakes. Kosher salt is named for its use in the Jewish process of koshering, which is dry-brining meats to remove blood.