Can you freeze glass containers?

When freezing in glass containers, the glass must be either tempered (such as the glass used for canning jars) or specifically labeled for freezing. Always leave about three quarters inch of space between the top of the food and the lid, and avoid quick temperature changes when thawing frozen glass.