Who invented the sandwich?

There is no single inventor of the sandwich. Placing ingredients between bread goes back at least to the middle ages in Europe and even earlier in the middle east. The name "Sandwich" for this type of food was coined in the 18th century and named after John Montagu, 4th Earl of Sandwich.