What is cardiac muscle?

Cardiac muscle (or myocardium) makes up the thick middle layer of the heart. It is one of three types of muscle in the body, along with skeletal and smooth muscle. Four characteristics define cardiac muscle: they are involuntary and intrinsically controlled, striated, branched, and single nucleated.