Are vegetable oil and olive oil the same?

Olive oil is one type of vegetable oil. Vegetable oil is commonly a mix of several types of plant based oils.

---

No, vegetable oil and olive oil are not the same. Olive oil is exclusively pressed from olives, and vegetable oil is derived from other plant sources, such as corn or sunflower seeds.