Why does an alcohol freeze?

Well, it has to do with the freezing point of alcohol, which is far lower than the traditional “freezing point” you're most familiar with, such as water (32 degrees Fahrenheit). Pure ethanol alcohol needs to be -173 degrees Fahrenheit to freeze.