Why do hamsters have red eyes?

They don't, usually. But albino, or white hamsters (and white mice), have red eyes because of the lack of pigment in the iris. The eyes of a blind hamster may appear red, too. Flash pictures of hamsters (and other animals, and people) may show red eyes due to the flash reflecting on the retina