What's a schnauzer?

A schnauzer is a dog that was originally bred in Germany. It includes three Schnauzer breeds based on size, including the working class Giant and Standard and the terrier class Miniature. Its name is derived from the German word for snout, which is a reference to the breed's distinctive beard.