Does alcohol cook out?

The idea that alcohol cook out of food and evaporates in cooking is to all effects and purposes nothing but a myth.at least, it does not evaporate as quickly as we may have been led to believe. After 15 minutes, 40% of the alcohol remains, after 30 minutes 35% and only after two and a half hours 5%.