What is yoda's species called?

George Lucas maintained a strict policy of keeping the history, name, origin, and whereabouts of this species unknown. When asked what species Yoda is, he joked, "He's a frog." In the documentary From Puppets to Pixels he joked that Yoda is "the illegitimate child of Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy."