What does boomer sooner mean?

"Boomer Sooner" is the fight song for the University of Oklahoma. The lyrics were written in 1905 by Arthur M. Alden, an OU student and son of a local jeweler in Norman. The tune is taken from "Boola Boola", the fight song of Yale University.