How do you bring flowers back to life?

Potted, or cut? Cut ones will almost always die, potted ones, stop over watering, put some miracle grow brand plant food in the soil's surface, plus crushed brown leaves, or coffee grounds, then make sure They're getting the recommended amount of sunlight.