How do you open a crab?

Wriggle off all the legs; use a cracker or mallet to crack the claw shells. Turn the crab over and remove the apron .Pull back the top shell and remove. Scrape off the gray spongy-looking gills with a knife and discard. Split the crab down the middle, then split each half open. Remove the meat.