What was the first superhero?

Some say Mandrake the Magician, who first appeared in 1934. But neither Mandrake nor The Phantom, who appeared in 1936, really have superpowers, just highly honed skills. The first real costumed, super-powered hero was Superman, who appeared in 1938.