When do babies start saying mommy and daddy?

According to the bump dot com, babies start to use syllables that sound like mama or dada around 7 months. Yahoo suggests that babies may use these syllables from 7 to 12 months. But the biggest growth in language occurs after 1 year of age although children's timelines can vary greatly.