What is a bolt action sniper rifle?

A sniper rifle can shoot very long distances, some over 1 mile. The upper receiver of the rifle carriers a bolt, inside the bolt is a firing pin which barely sticks out. When you pull the trigger, the hammer releases, hitting the firing pin. Thus, sending the bullet.