How long does it take to cook a good steak?

Place the steaks on the grill and cook until golden brown and slightly charred, 4 to 5 minutes. Turn steak over + continue to grill 3 to 5 minutes for medium-rare (an internal temperature of 135 degrees F), 5 to 7 minutes for medium (140 degrees F) or 8 to 10 minutes for medium-well (150 degrees F).