Who made light bulbs?

Numerous people, from the early 1800's onward, worked on making a light bulb. However, the very first one used in a home was made in the UK, by Sir Joseph Swan. Thomas Edison also had a light bulb that was of better design and sued Swan. Swan won the case, but Edison's bulb was more practical.