How many bones are in the abdomen?

The main bones in the abdominal region are the ribs. The rib cage protects vital internal organs. There are 12 pairs of ribs and they attach to the spine. There are seven upper ribs, known as “true” ribs, which attach to the sternum (breastbone) in the front of body.