What does r. ms mean?

RMS stands for “root mean square”. It is a mathematical value most commonly used to describe alternating current voltages.

---

RMS is an abbreviation for Root Means Squared. Statistically, the root mean square (RMS) is the square root of the mean square, which is the arithmetic mean of the squares of a group of values. RMS is also called a quadratic mean and is a special case of the generalized mean whose exponent is 2.