What's the formula for figuring heat index?

To calculate the heat index, you need to know the temperature and the relative humidity. Use a thermometer to measure the air temperature in degrees Fahrenheit and call it F. For example, if the temperature was 96 degrees Fahrenheit, F would be 96.