What happens when you drink salt water?

Human kidneys can only make urine that is less salty than salt water. Therefore, to get rid of all the excess salt taken in by drinking seawater, you have to urinate more water than you drank. Eventually, you die of dehydration even as you become thirstier.

---

By drinking seawater, cells are thus taking in water and salt. The salt content in seawater is much higher than what can be processed by the human body. Living cells depend on salt to maintain the body’s chemical balances and reactions, however, too much salt causes dehydration and can be deadly.