What happens when you drink salt water?

By drinking seawater, cells are thus taking in water and salt. The salt content in seawater is much higher than what can be processed by the human body. Living cells depend on salt to maintain the body’s chemical balances and reactions, however, too much salt causes dehydration and can be deadly.