What is the definition of the letter i.?

The letter "I" is the ninth letter of the English alphabet. Used alone in a sentence, capital "I" is a self-referential pronoun. A lower-case "i" followed by a period or colon usually stands for the Roman numeral "one."

---

The letter I is the ninth letter of the English-language alphabet, used to represent a variety of vowel sounds, including the diphthong used for its name.