What is a metal monolith?

A monolith is a structure made of a single large stone. But, if it is made of metal, it is called a metal monolith. One such metal monolith was found in November 2020, in a remote part of Utah. The origin or source of this monolith is unknown.

---

Monolith comes from the Greek words mono (single), and lithos (stone). A monolith is a monument that's a single large stone. But, if it is made of metal, it's a metal monolith. Some folks in a helicopter in a remote part of Utah recently found one. We don't know who put it there.

---

When something is monolithic, it is big, and made of one thing. Example: A large piece of stone jutting from the earth is a monolith. The recently found monolith in Utah, appears to be made of metal.