What was the first film ever made?

Roundhay Garden Scene (1888) The world's earliest surviving motion-picture film, showing actual consecutive action is called Roundhay Garden Scene. It's a short film directed by French inventor Louis Le Prince.

---

The first motion picture is attributed to Eadweard Muybridge who created a movie by using 12 cameras to capture a horse being ridden past them. Each camera took one image a split second apart. The images were put together showing each individual photograph in sequence, creating the sense of motion.