When did the u. s. s. scorpion sink?

On 22 May 1968, the USS Scorpion was lost with all hands . The reason for her sinking is unknown. The ship remains 1 of only 2 nuclear powered submarines ever lost by the US Navy, the other being the USS Thresher.