How do you open a venus flytrap?

If you've been patiently waiting for your Venus flytrap to open, and it still hasn't happened, your only option is to wait longer. The trap will open sooner, in a mere 24 to 48 hours, if it was a raindrop, twig, or curious human that triggered its closure