How is lactose taken out of milk?

Most lactose-free milk is made by adding a synthetic, or man-made, version of the enzyme lactase to regular milk. The enzyme breaks down the lactose into glucose and galactose in the milk before you consume it so the lactose doesn't cause a problem once it's in your digestive system