Do you put a period after etc. in a sentence?

Yes. "e. t. c. period." is an abbreviation for the Latin two words: "et cetera", which is spelled. e. t. space. c. e. t. e. r. a. If the abbreviation is used at the end of a sentence, the next sentence may begin after it, with no additional period, as is the case with other abbreviations.