What is the name of seattle?

Seattle was named after Chief Sealth, (si'áb Si'ahl, Noah Sealth), high-status man (appointed chief by the territorial governor) of the Duwamish and Suquamish tribes. David Swinson ("Doc") Maynard, one of the city founders, was the primary advocate for naming the city after Chief Seattle.