What is a mini ice age?

The Mini Ice Age, or Little Ice Age, refers to a period of moderate global cooling from about 1300 AD to 1850. Though the amount of cooling varied from region to region, it was significant enough to see increased icing in the North Atlantic and advancing glaciers from the Arctic.