Who is the first person to fly across the atlantic?

Eventually in 1927, Charles Lindbergh would make his historic flight between New York and Paris to win the Orteig Prize. It was the first solo nonstop flight across the Atlantic and the first to link the two major cities. Lindbergh was, however, the 19th person to cross the Atlantic in an airplane.

---

Charles Lindbergh made the first solo nonstop flight across the Atlantic. The U.S. Navy achieved the first transatlantic flight eight years before Lindbergh, but made several stops along the way.