How do you get candy off a cooking pan?

I have had the same problem. Here's what works for me: Put a 1/2 cup of vinegar in the pot and add enough water to cover the area you are trying to clean off. Put it on the stove and bring the water to a boil. Let it boil for about 20 minutes. The stuck on candy or food should come right off