What's the science behind oobleck?

Oobleck is a non-Newtonian fluid, made by mixing cornstarch with water. It has properties of both liquids and solids. When you apply pressure to oobleck the cornstarch particles get mashed together, trapping water molecules between them, and oobleck temporarily turns into a semi-solid material.