What's the difference between a waffle and a pancake?

Though made with the same batter and topped the same, waffles & pancakes differ in how they are cooked and served. Waffles cook in a double-sided grill with indentations that get crispy and hold syrup. Pancakes are poured on a skillet, flipped to cook both sides, and often served in a stack.