Can you use a subwoofer without a box?

Yes you can buy a subwoofer without a box only if you buy free air subwoofer .. You build a mounting board called a baffle to hold the subs.. Back in the 80s in car audio they where popular we make a baffle for the subs then use the cars trunk as the enclosure