How long does it take to cook spaghetti noodles?

Start timing when the water returns to a boil. Most pastas cook in 8 to 12 minutes. Test dry pasta for doneness after about 4 minutes of cooking by tasting it. It is difficult to give exact cooking times since different shapes andthickness of pasta will take less or more time to cook