What does c. e. stand for in dates?

BCE and CE usually refers to the Common Era (the years are the same as AD - BC). That is, BC is usually understood to mean "Before the Common Era" and CE to mean "Common Era," though it is possible to reinterpret the abbreviations as "Christian Era."