Where were dreads originated from?

Ancient Egypt is the true birthplace of dreadlocks. Some ancient Egyptian mummies were found to have had dreadlock wigs from 1400 BCE. These mummies are solid evidence that dreadlocks originated in ancient Egypt based on the timeline of other historical events.