Does a cougar have spots?

Cougars, also known as mountain lions or pumas, are native to Washington state. ... Cougar kittens are mottled with black spots and have ringed tails until they are about 6 months old. The cougar is the second largest cat in the New World. (The jaguar is the largest.)